Hours and Directions


Driving Directions


The library is located at 93 Main Street in the center of Ellington, at the head of the green and near the intersection of Maple Street/Route 140 and Main Street/Route 286. There are entrances to the parking lot from either of these roads.

  • From I-84: Take exit 64 to Route 83 north; travel on Route 83 for 3.5 miles into Rockville. Route 83 turns left at the intersection with Route 74 in Rockville - make this turn and continue on Route 83 into Ellington. At the 3rd light, turn left onto Route 286 (Main Street). The library is about one-half mile along, at the far end of the green.
  • From I-91: Take exit 45 to Route 140 east. Travel on Route 140 about 10 miles, into Ellington. Just into Ellington, Route 140 makes a right turn at an intersection - make this turn and travel about 3 miles more on Route 140, into the center of Ellington. Library is on the green, just before the intersection of Route 140 and Route 286.
  • MapQuest directions

Hours



Monday 10am-8pm
Tuesday 10am-8pm
Wednesday 10am-8pm
Thursday 10am-8pm
Friday 10am-5pm
Saturday       10am-5pm September--June
10am-1pm July-August
Sunday 1pm-5pm October-May
Closed June-September

​Emergency Closings


Click here for closings due to severe weather or emergencies.



Holiday Closings 2019
• Tuesday, January 1, New Year's Holiday
• Monday, January 14, Martin Luther King Day
• Monday, February 18, Presidents' Day
• Friday, April 19, Good Friday
• Sunday, April 21, Easter
• Sunday, May 12, Mothers' Day
• Sunday, May 26 and Monday, May 27, Memorial Day Holiday
• Thursday, July 4, Independence Day
• Monday, September 1, Labor Day
• Monday, October 7, Columbus Day
• Monday, November 11, Veterans' Day
• Wednesday, November 27 - Close at 1 p.m., Thanksgiving Holiday
• Thursday and Friday, November 28 and November 29, Thanksgiving Holiday
• Tuesday, December 24- Close at 1 p.m.
• Wednesday, December 25, Christmas Holiday

• Tuesday, December 31, New Year's Eve-Close at 1 p.m.


Book Cellar Hours
  • Monday 6:30-8 pm
  • Thursday 2:30-4:30pm
  • Saturday 10am-12pm
  • Sunday 2pm-4pm